Syria: A Living History
Syria: A Living History
  • Date:October 15, 2016 - February 26, 2017

Few countries have captured the world’s attention like Syria has today. Stories of conflict and displacement dominate the media and define people’s awareness of the place. Syria: A Living History brings together artifacts and artworks that tell a different story — one of cultural diversity, historical continuity, resourcefulness, and resilience. For over five millennia, this region perched on the eastern Mediterranean has witnessed great world civilizations comingling on its soil and producing art, literature, and culture that constitute the country’s rich legacy. Strongly informed by a distinctive landscape and history, artists of Syria throughout the ages have made priceless contributions to world heritage. Syria: A Living History inspires new understanding of Syria’s past and present, and invites new ways of thinking about its future.

Co-Curators
Dr. Filiz Çakır Phillip, Aga Khan Museum
Professor Nasser Rabbat, Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture, MIT

Historian
Dr. Ross Burns, Sydney, Australia

FEATURED VIDEO

Related Programming

ANNUAL LECTURE
Heritage and Conflict: Syria’s Battle to Save Its Past

Sunday, October 16, 2 pm

CURATOR'S TOUR
Syria: A Living History

Tuesday, October 18, 6:30–7:30 pm

WORKSHOP
Writing at the Aga Khan Museum

Sunday, October 23, 11am–4 pm

SYMPOSIUM
Syria's Art and Architecture: A Multicultural History

Saturday, October 29, 9:30 am–4 pm and Sunday, October 30, 10 am–12 pm
Co-organized with Professor Nasser Rabbat, Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture, MIT

Showcase Performance
CLASSICAL MUSIC SERIES Arias and Maqams with Lubana Al Quntar

Saturday, October 29, 8 pm

FILM
50 Feet from Syria

Sunday, November 6, 2 pm

LECTURE
Modern History: Syria

Thursday, November 10, 1–2 pm

LECTURE
Aleppo: A City and Its Architecture

Sunday, November 13, 2–4 pm

SHOWCASE PERFORMANCE
Oh My Sweet Land by Amir Nizar Zuabi

Friday, November 18–Sunday, November 20, 6 pm

SHOWCASE PERFORMANCE
Home Within with Kinan Azmeh and Kevork Mourad

Saturday, November 26, 8 pm and Sunday, November 27, 2 pm

FILM
Return to Homs

Sunday, December 4, 2 pm

SHOWCASE PERFORMANCE
Arabica Coffee House Concert with the Al Qahwa Ensemble

Sunday, December 11, 6 pm

Lion’s Head; Historic Syria; 9th–8th centuries BCE; Ivory, carved. With permission of the Royal Ontario Museum © ROM.


In partnership with

In partnership with

news_icon

Sign up for our newsletter Discover new Programs added regularly