50 Feet from Syria and My Dream, My Right

Film

50 Feet from Syria and My Dream, My Right

50 Feet from Syria and My Dream, My Right

  • Date: Nov 06, 2016 02:00PM
  • Price: $12, $10 Friends
50 Feet from Syria

Skye Fitzgerald, 2015, 39 min., English with some Arabic (in English subtitles)

50 Feet From Syria documents the story of Syrian-American doctor Hisham Bismar as he travels from his home in the peaceful suburbs of Portland to a dusty hospital positioned on the edge of war. A world-class orthopaedic surgeon, Dr. Bismar finds himself volunteering in a hospital perched on Turkey’s border with Syria — working to repair the lives of those wounded during the Syrian civil war. In this documentary, Director Skye Fitzgerald chronicles the trials and tribunes of Dr. Bismar and his patients, alongside the inspirational courage and idealism of the hospital’s workers and volunteers.

My Dream, My Right

Za’atari Film Workshop, 2016, 45 min.

View the result of a three-week filmmaking experience in the Za’atari Refugee Camp, featuring nine documentary shorts recorded on a collection of camera phones by Syrian refugee teens.

These screenings may contain mature subject matter. Viewer discretion is advised.

Related Programming

EXHIBITION
Syria: A Living History

October 15, 2016 to February 26, 2017

ANNUAL LECTURE
Heritage and Conflict: Syria’s Battle to Save Its Past

Sunday, October 16, 2 pm

CURATOR'S TOUR
Syria: A Living History

Tuesday, October 18, 6:30–7:30 pm

WORKSHOP
Writing at the Aga Khan Museum

Sunday, October 23, 11am–4 pm

SYMPOSIUM
Syria's Art and Architecture: A Multicultural History

Saturday, October 29, 9:30 am–4 pm and Sunday, October 30, 10 am–12 pm
Co-organized with Professor Nasser Rabbat, Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture, MIT

Showcase Performance
CLASSICAL MUSIC SERIES Arias and Maqams with Lubana Al Quntar

Saturday, October 29, 8 pm

LECTURE
Modern History: Syria

Thursday, November 10, 1–2 pm

LECTURE
Aleppo: A City and Its Architecture

Sunday, November 13, 2–4 pm

SHOWCASE PERFORMANCE
Oh My Sweet Land by Amir Nizar Zuabi

Friday, November 18–Sunday, November 20, 6 pm

SHOWCASE PERFORMANCE
Home Within with Kinan Azmeh and Kevork Mourad

Saturday, November 26, 8 pm and Sunday, November 27, 2 pm

FILM
Return to Homs

Sunday, December 4, 2 pm

SHOWCASE PERFORMANCE
Arabica Coffee House Concert with the Al Qahwa Ensemble

Sunday, December 11, 6 pm

Photo by 50 Feet from Syria (2015).

Sponsored By
news_icon

Sign up for our newsletter Discover new Programs added regularly